Posted on

how does Huey define Social Justice?

My father is a 1/8 Sioux Native American, so this presentation hit home for me. I knew of the battle of Wounded Knee, and my father has shown me pictures of when he visited the massacre site. Justice is what is right and wrong, now the problem is right and wrong are defined by those in power at the time, and right now those in power believe that the right thing to do is to not honor the treaties previously signed by their forefathers. Am I going to go off on a tangent about the living conditions, medical care, or schooling in all, not just the Sioux, Reservations, no I’m not that time has passed. The time for reconciliation is past, the Native Americans want their land and homes back, but the American government will not give over control to a sovren state, at least not that much. Treaties have been broken over and over, words promised, and were not kept. The justice in all of this is… well there really is no justice at all here. The American government gave its word, and didn’t keep it. Is that really how the leader of the world should act? I mean we built this nation on their ground, on their Native land, and we don’t blink an eye, what’s so different about then and now…

Leave a comment