Posted on

how does stevenson define social justice/injustice?

How did Stevenson define social justice…now there’s a tricky question if I ever saw one, reason being is that he never came out , to my memory, and outright told us how he defines social justice/ injustice…I do however know that he does go on to explain how he sees this countries court system a little lacking. Stevenson explains that in Germany there is no death penalty, in light of past events, but he says that we would find it terrible if Germany still had the death penalty, now why would we feel this way even though we ourselves in many states have the death penalty. He then goes on to say; now there is a big divide in this country on the justice issue. It is easier to be rich and guilty, than to be poor and innocent. The story of the motion at the end of his speech is amazing in my eyes, because yes the judge does believe that he can make the kid into adult, but what really gets me is how Stevenson states in the motion. I motion that we judge this young man not as a poor black child, but as a rich white old man and see what happens. That is the true injustice of this country, justice is blind but not the judges apparently can see the dollar signs very clearly. Also the story of his grandmother strikes a chord in me because what was said to him when he was young is almost the same thing that was said to me when I was 8 by my grandmother.

Leave a comment